## **KUAOTUNU RESIDENTS AND RATEPAYERS ASSOCIATION INC.**

# EXCERPT FROM THE MINUTES OF THE PUBLIC MEETING

#### **HELD AT KUAOTUNU HALL**

#### **7 January, 2018**

Meeting Opened: 3:10pm

**<u>Present</u>**: Committee Members Kathy Speirs, Kate Neilsen, Mel Asquith, Evans Young, Keith Goodall,

Bill Muir, Gordon McRobbie, Dugald Hoyland, Chris Twemlow and Alastair Brickell along with approximately 65 members of the public as well as special guests Coromandel MP Scott Simpson, Heather Bruce TCDC Community Manager - Mercury Bay, MB Community Board

Chairman Paul Kelly and TCDC Councillor Tony Fox

Apologies: Bruce Pilkington, Isabel Gilbert Palmer, Allan Tiplady, Murray McLean, Deli Connell

These apologies were accepted.

Moved: Gordon McRobbie Seconded: Chris Twemlow

### 7. Kuaotunu Library

Maxine McRobbie gave an outline of the history and progress on this issue and the formation of a library committee following on from the last KRRA public meeting. A major event was the offer of support from TCDC for using the changing shed at the tennis courts for a library facility. Fundraising events had been held and in addition the Domain Board had agreed to fund upgrade and modifications up to \$30,000 for this building as this was on land managed by them. The Board had recently provided funding for the new BBQ sited adjacent to this building.

This building modification would give the library an 8.4 x 2.6m space and the idea had generated many favourable comments on KRRA's website. Advantages included having an easily identifiable library building which had been a problem in the past...many did not know we actually had a local library. The area was centrally located with good parking space and modifications to the building could be made relatively quickly. Dugald Hoyland had prepared a plan and costings for the alterations and the next step was obtaining DOC approval.

Heather Bruce from TCDC noted that council was still in the process of gaining approval for the concept.

Maxine was thanked for her efforts and this supported by those attending.

Meeting Closed: 5:00pm

Signed: Alastair Brickell, 27 January 2018